Evaluating the Penalties for a DUI with a Criminal Lawyer in Junction City, KS

by | Apr 20, 2016 | Lawyers

Latest Articles

Categories

Archives

In Kansas, driving under the influence leads to criminal charges based on the driver’s blood-alcohol content reading. According to the law, drivers who are at least twenty-one are guilty of a DUI if they have a reading of at least 0.08 percent. Underage drivers are guilty if they have a reading of at least 0.02 percent. Commercial drivers with a reading of 0.04 percent are guilty. A criminal lawyer in Junction City, KS helps these drivers build a defense.

What Are the Penalties for Refusing to Submit to Testing?

Drivers who choose to drive while under the influence give officers the right to test them through an implied consent. Any refusal to submit to testing could lead to criminal penalties. The penalties are a one-year driver’s license suspension, an ignition interlocking device installation for two years, and a license reinstatement fee of at least $600.

What Are the Penalties for the 1st Conviction?

The penalties for the first conviction begin with a fine ranging between $750 and $1,000. The driver must complete 100 hours of community service and their license is revoked for up to one year. They must also participate in alcohol education and treatment programs and they are also responsible for all court costs.

What Circumstances Could Increase the Penalties?

Conditions that could increase the penalties include the presence of a child under fourteen, a blood-alcohol reading that exceeds 0.15 percent, or a fatality in an auto accident. If the individual has more than one conviction for a DUI it could also increase these penalties.

What Are the Administrative Penalties of a 1st Conviction?

The administrative penalties include a license suspension of at least thirty days. The driver must install an ignition interlocking device for at least six months, and they must also pay an additional reinstatement fee of at least $200.

Kansas laws explain the penalties for driving under the influence. Under these laws, drivers may face extensive penalties if additional circumstances apply, for instance, an auto accident. Individuals facing a DUI charge need to hire a criminal lawyer in Junction City, KS by contacting Oleen Law Firm or by visiting oleenlawfirm.com for more information.

Similar Articles