What Are the Different Types of Assault Charges in Houston, Texas?

There are three misdemeanor assault charges (Class A, B and C) and three felony assault charges (first, second and third-degree) in Texas. If you find yourself charged with assault, contacting an Assault lawyer in Houston will help, but to get you started, here is a brief explanation of each assault charge.

Class A, B and C Misdemeanor Assault

A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to $4000 in fines and up to one year in jail. You can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor if you caused bodily harm against someone.

If you are convicted of a Class B assault, you may get up to $2000 in fines and up to 180 days in jail.

A Class C misdemeanor assault is punishable by a fine of up to $500. If you threaten to commit harm to someone or make offensive contact, that is a Class C misdemeanor.

First, Second and Third-Degree Felony Assault

First-degree assault is punishable by up to life in prison. Assault in the first-degree is charged if a deadly weapon is used. If serious bodily harm is caused, this will also result in a first-degree felony assault charge.

Second-degree assault is punishable by up to 20 years in prison.

Third-degree assault is punishable by up to 10 years in prison. A crime constitutes assault in the third-degree if the victim is from groups like security guards and first responders. If you need an assault lawyer in Houston, contact the Law Offices of Jesse Hernandez today.

Be the first to like.

Share!

    Author: Ally Allshouse

    Share This Post On

    Pin It on Pinterest

    Shares
    Share This