What Qualifies A Vehicle As A Lemon In Florida Under The Lemon Law?
If you buy a vehicle with defects or that didn’t work as promised, you may be entitled to compensation under Florida Lemon Law. You may find solutions to the problem under Chapter 691 of Florida Statutes, but not all defective vehicles mean you have a lemon law case. The following factors usually qualify a vehicle as a lemon.
The Manufacturer Must Make a Reasonable Number of Attempts to Repair the Vehicle
You must notify the manufacturer of the problem by registered mail or express mail. Most manufacturer addresses should be in the owner’s manual. The manufacturer has 10 days to suggest an auto repair facility to correct the issue, and the repair shop must make the same repair three times.
The Vehicle Must Be Out of Commission for 15 Days.
If the vehicle still has the same problem, and you cannot use it for 15 days due to the issue, you should notify the manufacturer. The manufacturer has one attempt to examine and fix the vehicle. If the vehicle still cannot be used after 30 days because of the defect, the vehicle classifies as a lemon. You may be entitled to a full refund or a replacement.
Solving The Problem By Arbitration
Some manufacturers offer a state-certified settlement program, or arbitration, for vehicles not repaired after the allowed attempts. If the manufacture does not offer a state-certified program, or they fail to find a resolution in 40 days, you may contact the Florida Attorney General. The case then will be reviewed the Florida New Motor Vehicle Arbitration Board.
Some manufacturers could refuse to corporate with Florida Lemon Law. Contact Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center® to get legal assistance with these cases.